If I was run down by a bus tomorrow…

Last year, when 60&Sensational first arrived in the world, I wrote a piece for our forum about how women of 60 were perceived and labelled. If I was run down by a bus or shot by a mugger, I noted, I would be described in a newspaper story as “a pensioner” (well, technically, I am a year off, but close enough to the traditional retirement age for a woman for a sub-editor not to be too fussy), or a “grandma” (or, in the case of The Sun, a “gran”). I have no problem with being a grandma – I adore my grandchildren, and have no issues about fessing up to my age (hard not to when you are the co-founder of a website called 60&Sensational), but I do not wish to be reduced to a word that conjures up crinkly grey hair and proximity to the grave. Let’s remember just who is 59 and 60 (or past 60) right now – Anna Wintour, Meryl Streep, Joanna Lumley, Lulu, Twiggy, Moira Stewart, Jane Seymour… The list goes on. Those women are what 60 looks like today. Get used to it… sub-editors especially. Using labels like “grans” and “pensioners” is sloppy and lazy. Try harder!

About Cyndy and Jan

Co-founders of SoSensational, a website showing sensational clothes for sensational women
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

