Did I fluff my big break on TV?

I had an audition yesterday.

As a journalist and website director, that is not something I ever expected to say. But an utterly wonderful PR whom I have known for years asked me if I would be the brand ambassador for the fabulous London watch brand Kettle & Kotch when they are sold in July on QVC, the shopping network.

Before I am allowed to sit with a professional presenter and talk, in depth, about the watches, live, on air for 10 minutes, I needed to be auditioned.

Doing live TV and radio is not a new experience for me; I have done news programmes, current affairs and discussion programmes and regularly review the newspapers for Nick Ferrari’s breakfast show on LBC. So doing a live broadcast wasn’t daunting.

Having to talk about this great watch for 10 minutes wasn’t quite as simple as it might have seemed when I was watching QVC at the weekend. There is a special talent to talking in such detail that you can fluently and easily fill 10 minutes discussing fabric, design, style, comfort, fashionability of a WATCH. How much can a girl say about a watch before running out of things to say.

I didn’t pass. But I didn’t fail either. I’m probably going back for another try-out. In the meantime, I am planning to make a serious in-depth study of the Kettle & Kotch “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” watch styles. I’m just going to hang a “Please Do Not Disturb” sign round my neck for the next month…

Tell us if you have you done something challenging recently.

About Cyndy and Jan

Co-founders of SoSensational, a website showing sensational clothes for sensational women
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

